Welcome to the Nutrition Society of South Africa ICD 2021 COVID

NSSA Branch Committee Members

Northern Branch


Dr Tertia van Zyl

Ms Marlise Korff

CPD Accreditor

Ms Maria van der Merwe

Dr Jennifer Osei Ngounda

Ms Bakang Olifant



Treasurer, HSRC

Ms Malory Links-Jumat


Dr Stefan Abel

Ms Nasreen Jaffer


Dr Nasheetah Solomons

Ms Liesel Cornelissen

Ms Valmary van Breda

Dr Mariska Lilly



Ms Thobe Dlamuka

Ms Zanele Mkhize

Ms Xolile Mkhize.

Dr. Bianca van der Westhuizen is a senior lecturer in Nutrition at the Department of Life and Consumer sciences, Unisa. She completed her Ph.D. in Nutrition at the Centre of Excellence for Nutrition (CEN), North West University.

She is currently conducting research in public health nutrition focusing on the obesogenic environment of South Africa and how that affects the non-communicable disease profile of the country. Other research interest includes knowledge translation and how to bridge the gap between research and decision makers in terms of public health nutrition related problems. Her goal is to make her research useful.

Ms Marieke Theron has been working as a lecturer of dietetic students since 2013 at leading universities like the University of Cape Town and the University of the Western Cape. She received a merit award for her outstanding teaching and research in 2018 and is currently completing her PhD in public health.

Marieke is passionate about nutrition and population based health and has completed research in both correctional facilities and public hospitals in the Western Cape. She has been an advocate of the dietetics profession in South Africa and as such would like to assist the Nutrition Society of South Africa in their promotion of nutrition.